High Performance Computing Cluster

High Performance Computing Cluster

The Research Committee conducted a survey to assess faculty members’ needs and learned that there was a demand for resources to assist with advanced research.  As a result, a subcommittee was formed to create a high performance computing cluster (HPCC) equipped with 2,560 cores, 20.5 terabytes of memory, 288 terabytes of fast scratch storage, and 1.14 petabytes of raw persistent storage. There are also three large memory nodes each with 32 cores and one terabyte of memory. The $2.4M cluster was funded by contributions from the Office of the Provost, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research, the Academic Computing and Communications Center (ACCC), campus units, and researchers.

The resource will be used by researchers to conduct high-end research, and by students as an advanced teaching and learning tool.  The HPCC will also serve as a recruiting tool attracting top talent to UIC.  Already, the new cluster has aided in the addition of six new faculty members, as it was essential to their ability to conduct research.  For more information, visit: https://extreme.uic.edu.

Executive Governance Committee

Name Dept
Cynthia Herrera Lindstrom (Co-Chair) UIC CIO
William Hendrickson OVCR
Farzad Mashayek M&I Engineering
Henrik Aratyn LAS
Steven Swanson Pharmacy
Tom Royston Bioengineering
Larry Tobacman Medicine
David Hofman Physics

Technical Governance Committee

Name Dept
Neil Bahroos OVCR
William Randall ACCC
Himanshu Sharma OVCR
Gregory Cross ACCC